dof

dof: to be crazy

Dof, it seems, is my family’s teasing insult of choice. Danga dof, Nene says, swirling her fingers next to her temple, when she sees me dancing around the kitchen. Dafa dof, says Nene, rolling her eyes when our younger brother Baba does something silly. Dañu dof, I laugh about the little babies running around. Danga dof, I say, pointing at my brother Samba when he has been teasing me all day. Déetdéet, yow, danga dof! he retorts back at me. Being able to tease in Wolof makes me feel secretly very satisfied!

Leave a Reply

