ndekki

ndekki: (to have) breakfast

 

Breakfast is always the same here: I awake in the morning to find, sitting on the table outside of my room, a tray with a thermos of boiling water, tins of powdered milk, sugar and coffee, and a mug. Besides the mug sits half a baguette, freshly bought, sliced in two and slathered in margarine. Like the rising sun, I can count on this offering for breakfast, although sometimes instead of margarine there is chocolate spread. I eat one side of the half baguette and rush off for school.

If I am here for three-and-a-half months, and I eat a quarter of a baguette every morning—that’s over 25 baguettes eaten for breakfast by the end of my stay here!

Leave a Reply

