maangiiy fii

maangiiy fii: I am doing well.

 

Asalaam alekum. Malaekum salaam. Na nga def? Maangiiy fii. Greetings in Senegalese follow a rhythm, said over and over so many times each day that it becomes an incantation. Naka nga def ? How do you do? Maangiiy fii. This response obviously means, I am fine. And yet, translated literally, maangiiy fii becomes I am here. Isn’t that wonderful? I am here. Everything is good. I am here, now, in this moment. Here in Dakar, Senegal. Here, talking to you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

